We forget Pilot Island was once a lush and vibrant Island near the entrance to Port des Mort (Death's Door). The lighthouse was built in 1858 to help ship navigate through Death's Door...not all made it! Hundreds of ship wrecks reside in the area as full testimony to the treachery that awaited those brave enough to test the waters of Death's Door. Many families occupied the lighthouse/keepers building. The building was divided into 2 living quarters, one side was for the Keeper and his family and one side was for the Assistant Keeper and his family. The double roofs on the East side of the building were the separate kitchens attached to each living quarter. There were 2 docks at one time, 1 on the West side and 1 on the East side. The Island was often shrouded in fog, so the Fog Signal Building was a necessity. A lighthouse keeper assigned to Pilot Island did not live a life of luxury due to adverse conditions supplied by mother nature, because of his dedication many lives were saved.